Master's minimums: general rule and stricter programmes
UC3M's postgraduate language requirements set the minimum levels and say some programmes require more on their own pages, such as Management, the MBA and Finance:
| Test | General rule (B2) | Master in Management | MBA | Master in Finance (C1) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IELTS | 5.5 to 6.5 | 6.5 | 7.0 | 7.0 to 8.0 |
| TOEFL iBT, new scale | 4.0 to 4.5 | 4.0 to 4.5 | 5.0 | 5.0, with 4.5 in each section |
| TOEFL iBT, old 0-120 scale | 72 to 94 | 85 | 95 | 95 |
| Cambridge | B2 First (FCE) | Not stated | Accepted | C1 Advanced (CAE) |
| Linguaskill | 160 to 179 | Not stated | Not stated | 185 |
| PTE Academic, Duolingo | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
Waiver for degrees taught in English
UC3M does not require a test from native English speakers or from students who completed their university degree fully in English, on presentation of documentation. The page does not limit this to particular countries, so an English-medium bachelor's from India, Pakistan or Nigeria can qualify with a medium-of-instruction letter.
The Master in Finance adds that TOEFL scores must come from a single test date and does not accept TOEFL MyBest Scores. Bilingual master's need both Spanish B2 (DELE or SIELE) and English B2.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.
Bachelor's: B2 English to graduate
For bachelor's degrees, UC3M treats English as a graduation requirement rather than an entry test: every student must accredit B2 English before obtaining the degree. You can do this at any point during your studies with IELTS Academic 5.5 (General Training is not allowed), TOEFL iBT 72 or 4.0, a high school diploma from an English-speaking system, a UC3M level test, or by passing 60 credits in UC3M's English-taught groups.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your UC3M programme page and in your offer, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Is IELTS 6.5 enough for UC3M?+
For most English-taught master's, yes: the general rule is 5.5 to 6.5. The MBA asks 7.0 and the Master in Finance 7.0 to 8.0.
Does UC3M accept PTE or Duolingo?+
Neither is named on the UC3M master's and bachelor's pages we read, which list TOEFL, IELTS, Cambridge, Linguaskill and Aptis.
Do Indian students need IELTS for a UC3M master's?+
Not if their bachelor's was taught fully in English and they can document it. UC3M waives the requirement for degrees completed fully in English.
Does UC3M accept IELTS General Training?+
Not for the bachelor's B2 requirement, which says General Training is not allowed.
Keep reading
Related
- IE University IELTS requirement
- Università Cattolica IELTS requirement
- IELTS scores by university
- The new TOEFL 1-6 score scale
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- All 1066 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 11 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy