- IELTS fee
- €291
- IELTS for UKVI
- €313
- Centres
- 9
- Nova SBE master's
- B2 English
IELTS fee in Portugal
| Test | British Council centres | IDP partner centres |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS on computer (Academic or General Training) | €291 | €291 |
| IELTS for UKVI on computer | €313 (TUMO Lisbon) | Not listed |
| IELTS Life Skills A1 / B1 | €208 (TUMO Lisbon) | Not listed |
ielts.org lists nine IELTS centres in Portugal, all on computer: the British Council at TUMO in Lisbon, Porto and Coimbra, and in Portimão, Almancil (Loulé) and Funchal on Madeira, all with One Skill Retake; and IDP partners English Exam Centre (Lisbon and Estoril) and Knightsbridge Exam & Training Centre (Vila Nova de Gaia, by Porto). IELTS for UKVI and Life Skills are offered at TUMO Lisbon.
BandLadder pricing in EUR for Portugal
BandLadder in EUR
One-time access, no automatic renewal. Free practice needs no card. Prices are shown in your currency at checkout as well.
| Plan | Access | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Sprint Pass | 7 days | EUR 5.99 |
| Quick Pass | 15 days | EUR 9.99 |
| Boost | 30 days | EUR 16.99 |
| Professional | 60 days | EUR 28.99 |
| Professional | 90 days | EUR 36.99 |
Start preparing for Portugal
AI-scored mock tests built around your target score. Free account, no card.
Practice IELTS Academic →The band each destination needs
| Route | IELTS | PTE equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| United Kingdom: Skilled Worker, degree-level study | IELTS for UKVI 5.5 each (B2) | PTE Academic UKVI 59 each |
| Australia: Competent English (skilled visa eligibility) | IELTS 6.0 each | PTE 47 / 48 / 51 / 54 (L/R/W/S) |
| Australia: Proficient English (+10 points) | IELTS 7.0 each | PTE 58 / 59 / 69 / 76 |
| Canada: Express Entry CLB 7 | IELTS General 6.0 each | PTE Core L60 · R60 · W69 · S68 |
Australia's Proficient English (IELTS 7.0 each) adds 10 points and Superior (8.0 each) adds 20, achieved within three years of the visa application. Canada accepts only IELTS General Training for Express Entry, and the result must be under two years old. UK universities usually ask 6.0 to 6.5 for undergraduate and 6.5 to 7.0 for postgraduate study. The United States sets no IELTS or PTE score for the student visa: each university sets its own, and some do not accept PTE at all.
What universities ask for
| Institution / programme | IELTS Academic | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|
| Nova SBE (Portugal), master's | B2 certificate; IELTS score not stated | Not stated |
| Nova SBE, International Master's in Finance or in Management | C1 certificate; IELTS score not stated | Not stated |
| University of Toronto (Canada), undergraduate | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 65, no part below 60 |
| UNSW Sydney (Australia), engineering | 6.5, 6.0 in each | 64, 54 in each |
| UNSW Sydney (Australia), business | 7.0, 6.0 in each | 65, 54 in each |
| University of Bristol (UK), Profile E programmes | 6.5, 6.0 in each | 67, 64 in each |
| Arizona State University (US), first-year, most majors | 6.0 | 53 |
Nova SBE teaches in English and asks master's applicants for a B2 English certificate at application, or C1 for its International Master's in Finance and in Management, unless an exemption applies. Its eligibility page names the CEFR level, not a test score, so ask admissions which IELTS or PTE result it reads as B2 or C1.
Toronto does not accept IELTS One Skill Retake and wants every score from a single test date; it accepts IELTS Online. UNSW accepts One Skill Retake but not IELTS Online. Bristol accepts One Skill Retake and counts tests taken no more than two years before the course starts. Note how the PTE bar moves: Bristol asks 67 for the same profile that is IELTS 6.5.
Frequently asked questions
How much is the IELTS fee in Portugal in 2026?+
€291 for IELTS on computer at every centre ielts.org lists, checked 11 October 2026. IELTS for UKVI is €313 and Life Skills €208 at TUMO Lisbon.
Where can I take IELTS in Portugal?+
Lisbon, Estoril, Porto, Vila Nova de Gaia, Coimbra, Portimão, Almancil (Loulé) and Funchal on Madeira.
What English level do Portuguese universities ask for?+
Nova SBE asks for a B2 English certificate for most master's and C1 for its International Master's in Finance and in Management. Its page names the level, not an IELTS score.
Which IELTS do I need for a UK visa?+
IELTS for UKVI (or PTE Academic UKVI) for visa applications that need a Secure English Language Test: B2 is IELTS for UKVI 5.5 in each skill. Many universities accept ordinary IELTS Academic for admission, so check which one your offer names.
Official sources
Reviewed 11 October 2026. This guide helps you plan test preparation; check the current rules for your own program.
- IELTS: test centres in Portugal with fees
- IELTS: British Council, TUMO Lisbon fees
- IELTS: English Exam Centre Lisbon fees
- Nova SBE: master's eligibility
- Pearson: test centres and fees (price finder)
- University of Toronto: English language requirements
- UNSW Sydney: English language requirements
- University of Bristol: English language Profile E
- Arizona State University: international first-year admission
- gov.uk: Skilled Worker knowledge of English
- Home Affairs: Competent English
- IRCC: language testing for Express Entry
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy