- PTE Academic fee
- €275
- Centres
- 1 (Lisbon)
- UK visa (B2)
- 59 each
- Canada
- PTE Core
PTE fee in Portugal
| Test | Fee (Pearson price finder) |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic | €275 |
| PTE Academic UKVI | €275 |
| PTE Core | €275 |
| PTE Home A1 / A2 / B1 | €230 |
Pearson's price finder lists one test centre in Portugal, Rumos in Lisbon (checked 11 October 2026). IELTS on computer costs €291 at nine centres.
BandLadder pricing in EUR for Portugal
BandLadder in EUR
One-time access, no automatic renewal. Free practice needs no card. Prices are shown in your currency at checkout as well.
| Plan | Access | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Sprint Pass | 7 days | EUR 5.99 |
| Quick Pass | 15 days | EUR 9.99 |
| Boost | 30 days | EUR 16.99 |
| Ascent | 60 days | EUR 28.99 |
| Elite | 90 days | EUR 36.99 |
Start preparing for Portugal
AI-scored mock tests built around your target score. Free account, no card.
Practice PTE Academic →The score each destination needs
| Route | PTE | IELTS equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| United Kingdom: Skilled Worker, degree-level study | PTE Academic UKVI 59 each | IELTS for UKVI 5.5 each (B2) |
| Australia: Competent English (skilled visa eligibility) | PTE 47 / 48 / 51 / 54 (L/R/W/S) | IELTS 6.0 each |
| Australia: Proficient English (+10 points) | PTE 58 / 59 / 69 / 76 | IELTS 7.0 each |
| Canada: Express Entry CLB 7 | PTE Core L60 · R60 · W69 · S68 | IELTS General 6.0 each |
Australia's thresholds are per skill for tests from 7 August 2025: Competent 47 listening, 48 reading, 51 writing, 54 speaking; Proficient 58 / 59 / 69 / 76 for 10 points; Superior 69 / 70 / 85 / 88 for 20. Canada does not accept PTE Academic for Express Entry: PTE Core CLB 7 is listening 60, reading 60, writing 69, speaking 68. UK visas need 59 in each skill for B2. The United States sets no IELTS or PTE score for the student visa: each university sets its own, and some do not accept PTE at all.
Which universities accept PTE, and at what score
| Institution / programme | PTE Academic | IELTS Academic |
|---|---|---|
| Nova SBE (Portugal), master's | Not stated | B2 certificate; IELTS score not stated |
| Nova SBE, International Master's in Finance or in Management | Not stated | C1 certificate; IELTS score not stated |
| University of Toronto (Canada), undergraduate | 65, no part below 60 | 6.5, no band below 6.0 |
| UNSW Sydney (Australia), engineering | 64, 54 in each | 6.5, 6.0 in each |
| UNSW Sydney (Australia), business | 65, 54 in each | 7.0, 6.0 in each |
| University of Bristol (UK), Profile E programmes | 67, 64 in each | 6.5, 6.0 in each |
| Arizona State University (US), first-year, most majors | 53 | 6.0 |
Nova SBE teaches in English and asks master's applicants for a B2 English certificate at application, or C1 for its International Master's in Finance and in Management, unless an exemption applies. Its eligibility page names the CEFR level, not a test score, so ask admissions which IELTS or PTE result it reads as B2 or C1.
Toronto does not accept IELTS One Skill Retake and wants every score from a single test date; it accepts IELTS Online. UNSW accepts One Skill Retake but not IELTS Online. Bristol accepts One Skill Retake and counts tests taken no more than two years before the course starts. Note how the PTE bar moves: Bristol asks 67 for the same profile that is IELTS 6.5.
Frequently asked questions
How much does PTE cost in Portugal?+
€275 for PTE Academic, PTE Academic UKVI or PTE Core, per Pearson's price finder on 11 October 2026.
Where can I take PTE in Portugal?+
Pearson lists one test centre, Rumos in Lisbon.
IELTS or PTE from Portugal?+
PTE is €16 cheaper but sits only in Lisbon; IELTS runs in eight towns and cities. Check that your university accepts PTE, and at what score, before you book.
Does Canada accept PTE Academic?+
Not for Express Entry: Canada takes PTE Core, where CLB 7 is listening 60, reading 60, writing 69 and speaking 68. Universities set their own PTE Academic minimums.
Official sources
Reviewed 11 October 2026. This guide helps you plan test preparation; check the current rules for your own program.
- IELTS: test centres in Portugal with fees
- IELTS: British Council, TUMO Lisbon fees
- IELTS: English Exam Centre Lisbon fees
- Nova SBE: master's eligibility
- Pearson: test centres and fees (price finder)
- University of Toronto: English language requirements
- UNSW Sydney: English language requirements
- University of Bristol: English language Profile E
- Arizona State University: international first-year admission
- gov.uk: Skilled Worker knowledge of English
- Home Affairs: Competent English
- IRCC: language testing for Express Entry
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy